Kennedy Park
Bayside Terrace
Kennedy Park
Bayside Terrace
Portland Housing Authority

Administrative Staff

Mark B. Adelson, Executive Director and Secretary

Mark B. Adelson joined the staff of the Portland Housing Authority in June 2004, as Deputy Executive Director. He was appointed Executive Director in February 2010. Mark has worked in the field of housing and community development for more than 30 years. Prior to coming to PHA, he was the Director of Housing and Neighborhood Services for the City of Portland for 17 years, where he oversaw HUD Housing and Community Development programs, affordable housing development, and code enforcement. He was also staff to the City Council’s Housing Committee responsible for planning and policy development in the area of affordable housing.

Mark has a BA degree in Geography from the University of Maine at Farmington, and lives in Portland.

Jacob A. Varney, Information Technology Director

Jacob Varney joined the staff of Portland Housing Authority in May 2008 as a part-time assistant to the IT Director.  As of October 2010, he was promoted to IT Director.  Before joing Portland Housing Authority, Jake held the position of IT Manager for a local credit union.  Jake has a Bachelors Degree in Social Science with a Teacher's Licensure from Liberty University out of Virginia

 

Janice Bosse, Director of Housing Services, Section 8 Programs

Janice Bosse joined the staff of the Portland Housing Authority in December 2004. She has worked in the housing field as a programs administrator, housing manager, and independent consultant. Before coming to Portland Housing, she was the Section 8 Programs Manager for Avesta Housing. She has also worked for the Housing Authority of San Antonio, Texas, and as consultant to housing authorities and other agencies in Maine and New Hampshire. She is a certified Housing Manager, Occupancy and FSS Specialist, and Housing Inspector.

Jan has a BA in Anthropology and an MEd in Personnel and Counseling from the University of Maine. She lives in South Portland.

Mark Dromgoole, Director of Facilities Management

Mark Dromgoole began working as an Accounts Receivable Clerk for the Portland Housing Authority in 1977, and currently holds the position of Director of Facilities Management. During his time of employment at the Authority, Mark has held varied positions, serving as MIS Supervisor (1990-1992) and Deputy Director of Housing Services (1994-1997) among others, including serving as our first Director of Resident Services. In 1986, he graduated from Westbrook College with a Bachelors Degree in Business Administration.

 

Larry Giddinge, Director of Finance

Lawrence M. Giddinge joined the Portland Housing Authority in 1993 as its Director of Information and Technology and currently holds the position of Director of Finance and Administration. Prior to joining the PHA, he held a variety of accounting and computer related positions in both for-profit and not-for-profit businesses in the Greater Portland area. Larry holds degrees in Computer Science and Accounting and earned his Master of Science in Business at Husson College.

Christine Syska, Program Compliance Administrator

Christine Syska was a Public Housing Officer at PHA before accepting the position as Program Compliance Administrator in 2013. Her responsability is to ensure that all program rent calculations and files are in compliance with current HUD regulations. Another component of her work is investigating fraud in connection with the Office of the Inspector General and recovering monies that are owed to the PHA.

Trevor Nugent, Director of Public Housing
Trevor Nugent has worked in subsidized housing field since 2005.  He started at Portland Housing Authority in July 2008 as a Property Manager; and transitioned to the role of Director of Public Housing in August 2012.  Prior to Portland Housing Authority, Trevor worked at Dirigo Management Company with various roles including Administrative Assistant, Leasing Agent, and Certified Occupancy Specialist.  Trevor graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Communication from Boston University.

Staff Directory

 
Name Position Phone E-mail

Mark Adelson

Executive Director

X8223

madelson@porthouse.org

Lourdes Alvarez

Administrative Support Specialist

X8224

lalvarez@porthouse.org

Michelle Vire

Office Assistant/Receptionist

x8200

mvire@porthouse.org

FAX

 

761-5886

 

       


Finance

     

Larry Giddinge

Director Finance & Administration

x8231

lgiddinge@porthouse.org

Jo Hall

HR Manager

X8229

jhall@porthouse.org

Tammy Corey

Staff Accountant

x8232

tcorey@porthouse.org

Michelle Welton

Accounts Payable Clerk

x8255

mwelton@porthouse.org

FAX

 

761-5886

 

       


Information Technology 

Jake Varney

IT Director

x8228

jvarney@porthouse.org

       
 

Housing Services - Section 8 

Jan Bosse

Director of Housing Services

x8246

jbosse@porthouse.org

Linda Ballew

Special Programs Manager

x8247

lballew@porthouse.org

Eleanor Albert

Senior Housing Officer

x8273

ealbert@porthouse.org

Marilyn Pierce

Senior Housing Officer

x8233

mpierce@porthouse.org

Linda Herbert

Senior Housing Officer

x8240

lherbert@porthouse.org

Melissa Cote

Housing Officer

x8239

mcote@porthouse.org

Heidi DeLeo

Housing Officer

x8236

hdeleo@porthouse.org

Julie Gregor

Inspection Supervisor 

x8261

jgregor@porthouse.org

Ed Burleigh

Inspector - Section 8

x8253

eburleigh@porthouse.org

Jennifer Dick

Inspector - Section 8

x8252

jdick@porthouse.org

Charlene Burney

Office Assistant 

x8234

cburney@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-6471

 

       


Public Housing

     

Trevor Nugent

Director of Public Housing

x8225

tnugent@porthouse.org

Jere Sirois

Housing Officer

x8259

jsirois@porthouse.org

Heather Prouty

Housing Officer

x8257

hprouty@porthouse.org

Jason Beseda

Inspector

x8251

jbeseda@porthouse.org

Donna Neault

Office Assistant 

x8270

dneault@porthouse.org

FAX

 

879-4231

 

       


Resident Services 

     

Joni Boissonneault

Self Sufficiency Program Manager

x8265

jboissonneault@porthouse.org

Christie Gaydos

Family Services Case Manager

x8266

cgaydos@porthouse.org

Emily Mancini-Fitch

Resident Services Manager

x8263

efitch@porthouse.org

       


Compliance 

     

Christine Syska

Program Compliance Administrator

x8250

csyska@porthouse.org

Teesh D'Agostno

Office Assistant 

x8249

tdagostino@porthouse.org

Shawna Ohm

Community Police Coordinator

x8267

sohm@porthouse.org

Police Office

Riverton Park

797-8394

 

Police Office

Kennedy Park

553-9863  
       


Maintenance 

 

 

 

Mark Dromgoole

Director of Facilities Management

x8101

mdromgoole@porthouse.org

Matt Gallagher

Assistant Director of Facilities

x8102

mgallagher@porthouse.org

Laura Rainey

Work Order Clerk 

 

lrainey@porthouse.org

Maintenance

Tenant Repairs

774-2815

 

FAX

 

775-1101

 

       


SAGAMORE VILLAGE

Karin Lavigne

Property Manager

221-8070 X8300

klavigne@porthouse.org

Frank Smith

Housing Officer

221-8071 X8301

fsmith@porthouse.org

Sharon Buffinton

Office Assistant 

221-8072 X8302

sbuffinton@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-2379

 


Health Center
 
  772-8192  
       


FRANKLIN TOWERS 

David Gagne

Property Manager

221-8040 X8700

dgagne@porthouse.org

Maureen Welton

Housing Officer 

221-8042 X8702

mwelton@porthouse.org

Michele Pettengill

Office Assistant

221-8043 X8703

mpettengill@porthouse.org

FAX

 

773-7168

 

       


HARBOR TERRACE

David Gagne

Property Manager

221-8090 X8800

dgagne@porthouse.org

Maureen Welton

Housing Officer

221-8092 X8802

mwelton@porthouse.org

Stephanie Kaplan

Office Assistant 

221-8093 X8803

skaplan@porthouse.org

FAX

 

773-1890

 

       


RIVERTON PARK

Marcia Yeaton

Property Manager 

221-8060 X8400

myeaton@porthouse.org

Corynne Aldrich

Housing Officer

221-8061 X8401

caldrich@porthouse.org

Sam Lowry

Office Assistant 

221-8062 X8402

slowry@porthouse.org

FAX

 

878-5442

 

Health Center

 

747-4856

 

       


WASHINGTON GARDENS

Marcia Yeaton

Property Manager

221-8050 X8600

myeaton@porthouse.org

Ann Pride

Housing Officer

221-8051 X8601

apride@porthouse.org

Carol Varney

Office Assistant

221-8053 X8602

cvarney@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-5090

 

 

       


KENNEDY PARK, BAYSIDE TERRACE, BAYSIDE EAST, FRONT STREET, PENINSULA HOUSING

Shannon Rafferty-Roy

Property Manager

221-8030 X8500

sroy@porthouse.org

Lee Silva

Housing Officer

221-8031 X8501

lsilva@porthouse.org

Terri Anderson

Office Assistant

221-8032 X8502

tanderson@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-1591