Kennedy Park
Bayside Terrace
Kennedy Park
Bayside Terrace
Portland Housing Authority

Administrative Staff

Mark B. Adelson, Executive Director and Secretary

Mark B. Adelson joined the staff of the Portland Housing Authority in June 2004, as Deputy Executive Director. He was appointed Executive Director in February 2010. Mark has worked in the field of housing and community development for more than 30 years. Prior to coming to PHA, he was the Director of Housing and Neighborhood Services for the City of Portland for 17 years, where he oversaw HUD Housing and Community Development programs, affordable housing development, and code enforcement. He was also staff to the City Council’s Housing Committee responsible for planning and policy development in the area of affordable housing.

Mark has a BA degree in Geography from the University of Maine at Farmington, and lives in Portland.

Jacob A. Varney, Information Technology Director

Jacob Varney joined the staff of Portland Housing Authority in May 2008 as a part-time assistant to the IT Director.  As of October 2010, he was promoted to IT Director.  Before joing Portland Housing Authority, Jake held the position of IT Manager for a local credit union.  Jake has a Bachelors Degree in Social Science with a Teacher's Licensure from Liberty University out of Virginia

 

Janice Bosse, Director of Housing Services, Section 8 Programs

Janice Bosse joined the staff of the Portland Housing Authority in December 2004. She has worked in the housing field as a programs administrator, housing manager, and independent consultant. Before coming to Portland Housing, she was the Section 8 Programs Manager for Avesta Housing. She has also worked for the Housing Authority of San Antonio, Texas, and as consultant to housing authorities and other agencies in Maine and New Hampshire. She is a certified Housing Manager, Occupancy and FSS Specialist, and Housing Inspector.

Jan has a BA in Anthropology and an MEd in Personnel and Counseling from the University of Maine. She lives in South Portland.

Mark Dromgoole, Director of Facilities Management

Mark Dromgoole began working as an Accounts Receivable Clerk for the Portland Housing Authority in 1977, and currently holds the position of Director of Facilities Management. During his time of employment at the Authority, Mark has held varied positions, serving as MIS Supervisor (1990-1992) and Deputy Director of Housing Services (1994-1997) among others, including serving as our first Director of Resident Services. In 1986, he graduated from Westbrook College with a Bachelors Degree in Business Administration.

 

Larry Giddinge, Director of Finance

Lawrence M. Giddinge joined the Portland Housing Authority in 1993 as its Director of Information and Technology and currently holds the position of Director of Finance and Administration. Prior to joining the PHA, he held a variety of accounting and computer related positions in both for-profit and not-for-profit businesses in the Greater Portland area. Larry holds degrees in Computer Science and Accounting and earned his Master of Science in Business at Husson College.

Doreen L. Wheelock, Chief of Program Compliance

Doreen came to the PHA in 1999 and has held the positions of Executive Secretary of Housing Services, Program Manager of Housing Services and Deputy Director of Housing Services. She is currently the Chief of Program Compliance. This position requires her to ensure that all program rent calculations and files are in compliance with current HUD regulations. Another component of her work is investigating fraud in connection with the Office of the Inspector General and recovering monies that are owed to the PHA.

Staff Directory

 
Name Position Phone E-mail

Mark Adelson

Executive Director

X8223

madelson@porthouse.org

Cara Mearls

Admin. Support Specialist

X8224

cmearls@porthouse.org

Charlene Burney

Receptionist

x8222

cburney@porthouse.org

FAX

 

761-5886

 

       


Finance

     

Larry Giddinge

Director Finance & Administration

x8231

lgiddinge@porthouse.org

Jo Hall

HR Manager

X8229

jhall@porthouse.org

Tammy Corey

Staff Accountant

x8232

tcorey@porthouse.org

Michelle Welton

Accounts Payable Clerk

x8255

mwelton@porthouse.org

       


Information Technology 

Jake Varney

IT Director

x8228

jvarney@porthouse.org

       
 

Housing Services - Section 8 

Jan Bosse

Director of Housing Services

x8246

jbosse@porthouse.org

Linda Ballew

Special Programs Manager

x8247

lballew@porthouse.org

Eleanor Albert

Housing Officer

x8273

ealbert@porthouse.org

Heidi DeLeo

Housing Officer

x8236

hdeleo@porthouse.org

Marilyn Pierce

Housing Officer

x8233

mpierce@porthouse.org

Linda Herbert

Housing Officer

x8240

lherbert@porthouse.org

Melissa Cote

Housing Officer

x8239

mcote@porthouse.org

Julie Gregor

Inspection Supervisor 

x8261

jgregor@porthouse.org

Ed Burleigh

Inspector - Section 8

x8253

eburleigh@porthouse.org

Allen Doherty

Inspector - Section 8

x8252

adoherty@porthouse.org

Sharon Buffinton

Office Assistant 

x8234

sbuffinton@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-6471

 

       


Public Housing

     

Trevor Nugent

Interim Director of Public Housing

x8225

tnugent@porthouse.org

Marcia Yeaton

Intake Supervisor

x8258

myeaton@porthouse.org

Jere Sirois

Housing Officer

x8259

jsirois@porthouse.org

Christine Syska

Housing Officer

x8257

csyska@porthouse.org

Jennifer Dick

Inspector

x8251

jdick@porthouse.org

Donna Neault

Office Assistant 

x8270

dneault@porthouse.org

Shawna Ohm

Community Police Coordinator

x8267

sohm@porthouse.org

Police Office

Kennedy Park

553-9863

 

Police Office

Riverton

797-8374

 

FAX

 

879-4231

 

       


Resident Services 

     

Joni Boissonneault

Self Sufficiency Program Manager

x8265

jboissonneault@porthouse.org

Christie Gaydos

Family Services Case Manager

x8266

cgaydos@porthouse.org

Emily Fitch

Youth Services/Americorp Coordinator 

x8263

efitch@porthouse.org

       


Compliance 

     

Doreen  Wheelock

Compliance Officer

x8250

dstrube@porthouse.org

Teesh D'Agostno

Office Assistant 

x8249

tdagosino@porthouse.org

 

 

 

 


Maintenance 

 

 

 

Mark Dromgoole

Director of Facilities Management

x8101

mdromgoole@porthouse.org

Matt Gallagher

Assistant Director of Facilities

x8102

mgallagher@porthouse.org

Laura Rainey

Work Order Clerk 

x2815

lrainey@porthouse.org

Maintenance

Tenant Repairs

774-2815

 

FAX

 

775-1101

 

       


SAGAMORE VILLAGE

Annette Rogers

Property Manager

221-8070 X8300

arogers@porthouse.org

Frank Smith

Housing Officer

221-8071 X8301

fsmith@porthouse.org

Heather Prouty

Office Assistant 

221-8072 X8302

hprouty@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-2379

 

       


FRANKLIN TOWERS 

Karin Lavigne

Property Manager

221-8040 X8700

klavigne@porthouse.org

Stephanie Kaplan

Resident Service Coordinator 

221-8041 X8701

skaplan@porthouse.org

Maureen Welton

Housing Officer 

221-8042 X8702

mewelton@porthouse.org

Michele Pettengill

Office Assistant

221-8043 X8703

mpettengill@porthouse.org

Jane Beaudoin

Senior Service Coordinator/SMAA

221/8046 X8706

 

FAX

 

773-7168

 

       


HARBOR TERRACE

Karin Lavigne

Property Manager

221-8090 X8800

klavigne@porthouse.org

Stephanie Kaplan

Resident Service Coordinator

221-8091 X8801

 

Maureen Welton

Housing Officer

221-8092 X8802

mwelton@porthouse.org

Carol Varney

Office Assistant 

221-8093 X8803

cvarney@porthouse.org

Jane Beaudoin

Senior Service Coordinator/SMAA

221-8097 X8151

 

FAX

 

773-1890

 

       


RIVERTON PARK

Trevor Nugent

Property Manager 

221-8060 X8400

tnugent@porthouse.org

Corynne Aldrich

Housing Officer

221-8061 X8401

caldrich@porthouse.org

Heather Prouty

Office Assistant 

221-8062 X8402

hprouty@porthouse.org

Sam Lowry

Office Assistant 

221-8062 X8402

slowry@porthouse.org

Study Center

 

221-8065

 

FAX

 

878-5442

 

       


FRONT STREET & WASHINGTON GARDENS

David Gagne

Property Manager

221-8050 X8600

dgagne@porthouse.org

Trevor Nugent

Property Manager 

 

tnugent@porthouse.org

Ann Pride

Housing Officer

221-8051 X8601

apride@porthouse.org

Jane Beaudoin

Senior Service Coordinator/SMAA

774-2806

 

Sam Lowry

Office Assistant

 

slowry@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-5090

 

 

       


KENNEDY PARK, BAYSIDE TERRACE, BAYSIDE EAST AND PENINSULA HOUSING

David Gagne

Property Manager

221-8030 X8500

dgagne@porthouse.org

Lee Silva

Housing Officer

221-8031 X8501

lsilva@porthouse.org

Terri Anderson

Office Assistant

221-8032 X8502

tanderson@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-1591