Kennedy Park
Bayside Terrace
Kennedy Park
Bayside Terrace
Portland Housing Authority

Administrative Staff

Mark B. Adelson, Executive Director

Mark B. Adelson joined the staff of the Portland Housing Authority in June 2004, as Deputy Executive Director. He was appointed Executive Director in February 2010. Mark has worked in the field of housing and community development for more than 30 years. Prior to coming to PHA, he was the Director of Housing and Neighborhood Services for the City of Portland for 17 years, where he oversaw HUD Housing and Community Development programs, affordable housing development, and code enforcement. He was also staff to the City Council’s Housing Committee responsible for planning and policy development in the area of affordable housing.

Mark has a BA degree in Geography from the University of Maine at Farmington, and lives in Portland.

Jacob A. Varney, Information Technology Director

Jacob Varney joined the staff of Portland Housing Authority in May 2008 as a part-time assistant to the IT Director.  As of October 2010, he was promoted to IT Director.  Before joining Portland Housing Authority, Jake held the position of IT Manager for a local credit union. Jake has a Bachelor Degree in Social Science with a Teacher's Licensure from Liberty University out of Virginia.

 

Janice Bosse, Director of Housing Services, Section 8 Programs

Janice Bosse joined the staff of the Portland Housing Authority in December 2004. She has worked in the housing field as a programs administrator, housing manager, and independent consultant. Before coming to Portland Housing, she was the Section 8 Programs Manager for Avesta Housing. She has also worked for the Housing Authority of San Antonio, Texas, and as consultant to housing authorities and other agencies in Maine and New Hampshire. She is a certified Housing Manager, Occupancy and FSS Specialist, and Housing Inspector.

Jan has a BA in Anthropology and an MEd in Personnel and Counseling from the University of Maine. She lives in South Portland.

Mark Dromgoole, Director of Facilities Management

Mark Dromgoole began working as an Accounts Receivable Clerk for the Portland Housing Authority in 1977, and currently holds the position of Director of Facilities Management. During his time of employment at the Authority, Mark has held varied positions, serving as MIS Supervisor (1990-1992) and Deputy Director of Housing Services (1994-1997) among others, including serving as our first Director of Resident Services. In 1986, he graduated from Westbrook College with a Bachelors Degree in Business Administration.

 

Larry Giddinge, Director of Finance

Lawrence M. Giddinge joined the Portland Housing Authority in 1993 as its Director of Information and Technology and currently holds the position of Director of Finance and Administration. Prior to joining the PHA, he held a variety of accounting and computer related positions in both for-profit and not-for-profit businesses in the Greater Portland area. Larry holds degrees in Computer Science and Accounting and earned his Master of Science in Business at Husson College.

Christine Syska, Program Compliance Administrator

Christine Syska was a Public Housing Officer at PHA before accepting the position as Program Compliance Administrator in 2013. Her responsibility is to ensure that all program rent calculations and files are in compliance with current HUD regulations. Another component of her work is investigating fraud in connection with the Office of the Inspector General and recovering monies that are owed to the PHA.

Trevor Nugent, Director of Public Housing
Trevor Nugent has worked in subsidized housing field since 2005.  He started at Portland Housing Authority in July 2008 as a Property Manager; and transitioned to the role of Director of Public Housing in August 2012.  Prior to Portland Housing Authority, Trevor worked at Dirigo Management Company with various roles including Administrative Assistant, Leasing Agent, and Certified Occupancy Specialist.  Trevor graduated with a BA in Communication from Boston University.

Staff Directory

 
Name Position Phone E-mail

Mark Adelson

Executive Director

773-4753 x8223

madelson@porthouse.org

Lourdes Alvarez

Administrative Support Specialist

773-4753 x8224

lalvarez@porthouse.org

CJ Owens

Receptionist

773-4753 x8200

cowens@porthouse.org

FAX

 

761-5886

 

       

Development

     

Jay Waterman

Development Director

773-4753 x8227

jwaterman@porthouse.org

       

Finance

     

Larry Giddinge

Director Finance & Administration

773-4753 x8231

lgiddinge@porthouse.org

Jo Hall

HR Manager

773-4753 X8229

jhall@porthouse.org

Tammy Corey

Staff Accountant

773-4753 x8232

tcorey@porthouse.org

Michelle Welton

Accounts Payable Clerk

773-4753 x8255

mwelton@porthouse.org

FAX

 

761-5886

 

       


Information Technology 

Jake Varney

IT Director

773-4753 x8228

jvarney@porthouse.org

       
 

Housing Services - Section 8 

Jan Bosse

Director of Housing Services

773-4753 x8246

jbosse@porthouse.org

Linda Ballew

Special Programs Manager

773-4753 x8247

lballew@porthouse.org

Eleanor Albert

Senior Housing Officer

773-4753 x8273

ealbert@porthouse.org

Michelle Vire

Housing Officer

773-4753 x8233

mvire@porthouse.org

Beth Heywood

Housing Officer

773-4753 x8240

bheywood@porthouse.org

Melissa Cote

Housing Officer

773-4753 x8239

mcote@porthouse.org

Heidi DeLeo

Housing Officer

773-4753 x8236

hdeleo@porthouse.org

Julie Gregor

Inspection Supervisor 

773-4753 x8261

jgregor@porthouse.org

Ben Thompson

Inspector - Section 8

773-4753 x8253

bthompson@porthouse.org

Jennifer Dick

Inspector - Section 8

773-4753 x8252

jdick@porthouse.org

Adam Coulon

Office Assistant 

773-4753 x8234

acoulon@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-6471

 

       

Public Housing

     

Trevor Nugent

Director of Public Housing

773-4753 x8225

tnugent@porthouse.org

Jere Sirois

Housing Officer

773-4753 x8259

jsirois@porthouse.org

Heather Prouty

Housing Officer

773-4753 x8257

hprouty@porthouse.org

Jason Beseda

Inspector

773-4753 x8251

jbeseda@porthouse.org

Charlene Burney

Office Assistant 

773-4753 x8270

cburney@porthouse.org

FAX

 

879-4231

 

       

Resident Services 

     

Joni Boissonneault

Self Sufficiency Program Manager

773-4753 x8265

jboissonneault@porthouse.org

Christie Gaydos

Family Services Case Manager

773-4753 x8266

cgaydos@porthouse.org

Emily Mancini-Fitch

Resident Services Manager

773-4753 x8263

efitch@porthouse.org

       

Compliance 

     

Christine Syska

Program Compliance Administrator

773-4753 x8250

csyska@porthouse.org

Teesh D'Agostino

Office Assistant

773-4753 x8249

tdagostino@porthouse.org


FAX
 
  221-8013  
       

Shawna Ohm

Community Police Coordinator

773-4753 x8267

sohm@porthouse.org

Police Office

Riverton Park

797-8374

 

Police Office

Kennedy Park

553-9863

 

       

Maintenance 

 

 

 

Mark Dromgoole

Director of Facilities Management

773-4753 x8101

mdromgoole@porthouse.org

Richard Biggs

Assistant Director of Facilities

773-4753 x8102

rbiggs@porthouse.org

Wendy Chase

Facilities Clerk 

774-2815

wchase@porthouse.org

FAX

 

775-1101

 

       

SAGAMORE VILLAGE

Marcia Yeaton

Property Manager

221-8070

myeaton@porthouse.org

Frank Smith

Housing Officer

221-8071

fsmith@porthouse.org

Cathy Melrose

Office Assistant 

221-8072

cmelrose@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-2379

 


Maintenance/Tenant Repairs
 
  615-4128  
       

FRANKLIN TOWERS 

Clayton Williams

Property Manager

221-8040

cwilliams@porthouse.org

Maureen Welton

Housing Officer 

221-8042

mewelton@porthouse.org

Sam Lowry

Office Assistant

221-8043

slowry@porthouse.org

FAX

 

773-7168

 


Maintenance/Tenant Repairs
 
  699-7327  
       

HARBOR TERRACE

Karin Lavigne

Property Manager

221-8090

klavigne@porthouse.org

Maureen Welton

Housing Officer

221-8092

mewelton@porthouse.org

Donna Neault

Office Assistant 

221-8093

dneault@porthouse.org

FAX

 

773-1890

 


Maintenance/Tenant Repairs
 
  699-7329  
       

RIVERTON PARK

Marcia Yeaton

Property Manager 

221-8060

myeaton@porthouse.org

Corynne Aldrich

Housing Officer

221-8061

caldrich@porthouse.org

Nadia Romanova

Office Assistant 

221-8062

nromanova@porthouse.org

FAX

 

878-5442

 


Maintenance/Tenant Repairs
 
  615-4146  
       


WASHINGTON GARDENS

Karin Lavinge

Property Manager

221-8050

klavigne@porthouse.org

Michelle Pettengill

Housing Officer

221-8051

mpettengill@porthouse.org

Heather Kaufman

Office Assistant

221-8053

hkaufman@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-5090

 

 


Maintenance/Tenant Repairs
 
  615-4146  
       

KENNEDY PARK, BAYSIDE TERRACE, BAYSIDE EAST, FRONT STREET, PENINSULA HOUSING

Shannon Rafferty-Roy

Property Manager

221-8030

sroy@porthouse.org

Lee Silva

Housing Officer

221-8031

lsilva@porthouse.org

Liliane Ruvakubusa

Office Assistant

221-8032

lruvakubusa@porthouse.org

FAX

 

774-1591

 


Maintenance/Tenant Repairs
 
Kennedy Park, Bayside East, Bayside Terrace, Peninsula Housing 699-7346  

Maintenance/Tenant Repairs
 
Front Street 615-4146